Taking Time For Yourself

Another common phrase that’s easier said than done, right? Well, I think sometimes these sayings are out there because they have some truth to them. Today I took a random vacation day off. I’ve been working for months now with a couple days off for travel, but was realizing that it was starting to feel a little Groundhog Day for me. So here I am. This morning I went to the gym (which ironically is at work!), picked up some things at the grocery store, and took Harrison for a nice walk in my neighborhood. Yes, if you click on his name, you’ll find he takes after his owner–he has his own blog as well!

Anyway, not only do I get a shortened workweek, but I feel a little bit relaxed to be able to miss the Monday madness that inevitably happens each week. I plan to do a little cooking, and of course watch some of the judge shows (yes I know they’re all probably fake but I love them!), and catch up on a couple of bills.

If you have the luxury of being able to use a vacation day here and there just for yourself, not traveling, then I would highly recommend it. Just the idea of prioritizing yourself can make you feel better. Although it doesn’t seem like it would make a big difference, the benefits are great! Happy mental health.

Explore posts in the same categories: General Mental Health

2 Comments on “Taking Time For Yourself”


  1. Very true…although as a writer who works from home it’s a little harder and easier. Made more difficult by the fact that if I’m at home, I feel I should be writing and easier by the simple fact that I make my own schedule. I’m working on a book now that is due in June to my publisher…which means I’m writing roughly one chapter a week with the goal of finishing a little early (I told my editor this and she said, “I’m going to forget I heard that.”). I’m not sure there has been a writer in history that has turned in her/his manuscript on time, so it’s a little presumptuous to think I’ll be the first. Anyway, very insightful post and glad you’re enjoying your day off 🙂

  2. YMO Says:

    Glad you had a nice “mental health day.” I missed a few days of work last week, because I was sick, but it still felt like much needed break.


Leave a Reply

